Skilled Occupation list

Australian Skilled Immigration: An Overview of Common Visa Categories

As mentioned earlier, Australian skilled immigration has three highly talked about categories, subclass 489, subclass 189 and subclass 190. But before talking about the categories, it is mandatory to mention here that immigration Australia requirements for skilled visas include checking your desired occupation in the list provided by the Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP).

Australian skilled occupation list 2015 has a total of 100+ occupations listed. This Australia skilled immigration occupation list 2015 is effective till 30 June 2016.

Skilled Occupation list 2016

The following occupations are a part Migration to Australia skilled occupation list 2015 but they will be removed from July 2016. These are:

  • Mining Engineer (Excluding Petroleum) (ANZSCO 233611)
  • Petroleum Engineer (ANZSCO 233612)
  • Metallurgist (ANZSCO 234912)
  • Environmental Health Officer (ANZSCO 251311)
  • Occupational Health and Safety Adviser (ANZSCO 251312)
  • Dental Hygienist (ANZSCO 411211)
  • Dental Prosthetic (ANZSCO 411212)
  • Dental Technician (ANZSCO 411213)
  • Dental Therapist (ANZSCO 411214)

The overview of three frequently asked visa categories is given below. Immigrants who move to work in Australia usually are interested in these visa categories.

Subclass 489 is a regional visa. This visa allows you to work for a specific region of Australia. immigration to Australia consultants can guide you on its effectiveness.

Subclass 189 is an independent visa. You don’t need any sponsorship from a family member, employee or Australian state/territory. Immigration Australia consultants can provide you the detailed information about this visa category.

Subclass 190 is a state/territory sponsored visa. You have to be nominated by an Australian state/territory to apply for this visa category. You can ask Australian migration consultants whether this category suits you or not.